Sources of power for the year ended Mar. 31, 1961 were as follows:	ws:-
--	------

Source	Power	Percentage of Total
	kwh.	
Hydro-electric plant	1,501,270,750	84.0
Oil fuel	47, 377, 956	2.7
Gas fuel	159, 453, 186	8.9
Gas-turbine plant	136,000	
Purchased	78, 144, 129	4.4
Totals	1,786,382,021	100.0

Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include Yukon Territory. The Commission has authority to construct and operate power plants as required in the Territories and, subject to approval of the Governor in Council, in any other parts of Canada.

The Commission has hydro-electric power developments on the Yukon River near Whitehorse, Y.T., the Mayo River near Mayo Landing, Y.T., and the Snare River northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T. Diesel-electric plants are operated at Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Fort Resolution, Frobisher Bay and Inuvik, N.W.T., and at Field, B.C.

The Whitehorse Rapids power development, which has been in service since November 1958, supplies the power for the Department of National Defence at Whitehorse, most of the power for the city of Whitehorse, and the power for heating systems of the Department of National Health and Welfare Hospital and two hostels operated by the Department of Citizenship and Immigration.

The Snare River hydro developments supply power to the mines in the Yellowknife area and, with the Bluefish hydro-electric plant of the Consolidated Mining and Smelting Company of Canada Limited, supply the town of Yellowknife. The original Snare Rapids plant has been in operation since September 1948 and the Snare Falls plant, situated on the same river about 10 miles downstream from the original plant and remotely controlled from Snare Rapids, was placed in service in November 1960.

The Mayo River plant, completed in November 1952, supplies power to mining properties in the Elsa and Keno areas and to the Mayo Landing and Keno City communities.

The diesel-electric plants supply the needs of Federal Government departments and the general public in the communities in which they are located. In addition to these plants the Commission operates a power and heating plant at the Fort McPherson residential school for the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, and the municipal water system and central heating plant supplying the hostel and school premises at Fort Simpson, N.W.T. Details of construction completed or under way in the Territories during 1961 are outlined at pp. 557-558.